
 
Class A Introductory Course  

in Commercial Vehicle Driver Education 
 
 

Requirements to provide the introductory course in commercial vehicle driver 
education instruction to applicants for a Class A commercial vehicle driver 
education instructor license. A person meeting the requirements below may be 
authorized by the Secretary of State to provide the introductory course in commercial 
vehicle driver education for Class A commercial vehicle driver education instructor 
license applicants required by Chapter 9 Rules Governing Driver Education §4, 
subsection 5, A (1).  

A. Requirements. A person seeking authorization under subsection 8 must meet the 
following requirements: 

(1) The person must hold a bachelor’s degree, or 

(2) The person must have held a valid Class A commercial vehicle driver 
education instructor license for the preceding five years, and taught at least 
ten complete commercial vehicle driver education courses; and 

(3) The person must not have violated any statute or rule governing driver 
education or any condition or restriction placed on any license issued 
pursuant to these rules for which administrative or other enforcement action 
was taken within the last five years; and 

(4) The person must complete an instructor preparation program as approved by 
the Secretary of State. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

http://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules/29/250/250c009.docx


 

Course Curriculum 
 

Minimum 48 hours and must include range and behind-the-wheel instruction 
 

The introductory course in commercial vehicle driver education for Class A commercial 
vehicle driver education instructor license applicants must be based on the approved 
curriculum standards; include components in harassment prevention; teaching students 
with special needs; and provide a minimum of 48 hours of instruction which includes 
range instruction and behind the wheel on road training. The curriculum must be 
submitted to the Secretary of State, BMV-Driver Education unit, for review and approval.  

A course instructor must provide the Secretary of State, BMV-Driver Education unit, in 
writing, notification of a commercial vehicle driver education instructor course at least 10 
days prior to the start of the course.  

Any instructor authorized under this section must allow any interested person to enroll in 
a course to meet licensing requirements. The authorized instructor may assess a fee equal 
to the current tuition for a three credit course through the University of Southern Maine. 

Required textbooks: 
 PTDI Textbook 
 Maine Motorist Handbook & Study Guide 
 Maine Commercial Driver License Manual  

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations 
 Title 29A Maine Motor Vehicle Statutes 
 Chapter 9 Rules Governing Driver Education 
 BMV Driver Education related forms 
 
Course content: 
 Over view of Maine laws, rules and regulations 
 Basic driving technique 

Overview of endorsements and restrictions 
 Creation of lesson plans 
 Peer teaching 
 Drug and alcohol awareness 
 English as a second language 
 General vehicle insurance 
 Insurance for driving schools 
 Vehicle technology 
 Harassment prevention; to include sexual harassment prevention 
 Range and road vehicle training and peer teaching (minimum of 5 hours) 
 
Teaching methodologies: 
 Lecture 
 Group work 
 Audio-visual 
 Speakers 

Peer teaching 
 Role playing 
 
Range and Road Instruction (Minimum 5 hours) 
 Range requirements - Chapter 9: Rules Governing Driver Education 

(size, closed off from public, set-up, etc.)  
Pre-trip 



 
Commercial Vehicle Instructor Candidate Skills Report 

 
Instructor Candidate:       Date of Birth:    
 
Candidate’s School Affiliation:         
 
Class A Commerical Vehicle Instructor:         
 
Date:       
 
 
All sixteen mandatory subjects must be covered plus at least two optional 
subjects. 
No. Maneuver Mand./Optional Sat. Unsat. 

1 Outside Checks, Entering the Vehicle 
Safely 

Mandatory   

2 Inside Checks (Vehicle Orientation) Mandatory   
3 Starting the Engine Mandatory   
4 Braking Mandatory   
5 Tracking in a Straight Line, Tracking on 

Turns 
Mandatory   

6 Leaving the Vehicle Safely Mandatory   
7 Changing Lanes Mandatory   
8 Right Turn Mandatory   
9 Left Turn Mandatory   

10 Tracking to the Rear Mandatory   
11 Starting on an Uphill Grade (Hill Stop) Mandatory   
12 Managing Power and Speed Mandatory   
13 Managing Visibility, Time and Space in 

Various Environments 
Mandatory   

14 Shifting to a Higher Gear Mandatory   
15 Downshifting Mandatory   
16 Emergency Downshifting Mandatory   
17 Expressway Entry Optional   
18 Expressway Exit Optional   
19 Passing Optional   
20 Parking Downgrade Optional   
21 Shared Turning Lane Optional   
22 Rotary Optional   
23 RR Crossing Optional   
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